shawn kerivan   



To purchase one of Shawn’s books, click on the images above.

Name the Boy

The stories in Name the Boy explore the complicated and murky waters of father and son relationships.  Set against the bucolic but poverty stricken fishing village of his youth, Shawn explores the lives and consequences of characters we all know.  Published by The Vermont Press.

A Brief History of Innkeeping in the 21st Century

When he became an innkeeper, Shawn never imagined that he’d get a book out of it.  But he should have known better.  A Brief History of Innkeeping in the 21st Century isn’t just a memoir of innkeeping, it’s a detailed examination of the American dream, as well as a writer’s journey: three books in one.  Published by The Vermont Press.

Creative Writing in the Real World

Collecting the writings of his life together, Shawn offers thoughts and lessons on writing in this book of varied genres.  Everything from novel excerpts to critical academic papers make this book perfect for writing teachers of any ilk, from composition to creative writing.  Perfect as a writer’s reader.  Published by New Plains Press. Click on the book to order a copy.

Iago’s Fool

When Rance’s Vaughn’s life of peaceful inebriation is violently interrupted, he learns that his past is like a rash that won’t go away. His ex-wife’s criminal activity pulls him into an international plot called SHAKESPEARE that threatens the national security of America, and drags him on a chase that leads from his Boston home to Paris, the steppes of Kazakhstan, and Ireland. Along the way Rance learns the shocking truths from a past he thought he’d buried long ago, from sins he thought were forgiven. Iago's Fool is a fast-paced, adventure thriller with an unlikely hero finding his way through a deadly world he's not prepared to inhabit. Iago's Fool is an intellectual, anti-Bond novel with real, flawed characters swept up in events they cant control.